Editing Existing Assignments

In the Teaching > Assignments page, Educators can adjust existing assignments by selecting the three vertical dots on the right side of each assignment, depending on the Assignment Status.

  • Draft: assignment has been created but not assigned. Here Educators can:
    • Add a start and due date;
    • Assign to Learners. Once assigned, the status changes to “Assigned” or “Active” depending on if the start date is in the future or the past;
    • Change exam mode (and its features);
    • Change assignment title;
    • Refine questions by objective and split-screen review the associated question;
    • Add more or fewer questions than originally set during filtering;
    • Preview Learner session;
    • Present the assignment to their class;
    • Duplicate to Draft version with “Copy of [current title]”;
    • Delete the assignment.
  • Assigned: assignment has been assigned, but the start date is in the future.  Here, Educators can:
    • Add a start and due date;
      • If the start date is set before the time of editing, the status transitions to “Active” state;
    • Auto-assign via the "Assign via link" toggle (see below for more information);
    • Change exam mode (and its features); note: learners will not be notified;
    • Change assignment title;
    • Refine Qs by objective and split-screen review the associated Q;
    • Add more or fewer Qs than originally set during filtering;
    • Preview Learner session;
    • Add new assignees afterwards and adjust the start date;
    • Copy emails of all assigned learners;
    • Revert to draft, thereby removing current assignees
    • Duplicate to a Draft version with “Copy of [current title]”.
  • Active: assignment is currently available to learners. Here, Educators can:
    • Add a due date if none existed before; note: learners will not be notified;
    • Extend the due date; note: learners will not be notified;
    • Assign to additional learners;
    • Copy emails of all assigned learners;
    • Change assignment title;
    • Preview Learner session;
    • View the associated learning objectives;
    • Duplicate to Draft version with “Copy of [current title]”; 
    • Close (i.e., change to “Closed” status).
  • Closed: assignment has an end date that is in the past. Here, Educators can:
    • Change assignment title;
    • Copy emails of all assigned learners;
    • Preview Learner session;
    • View the associated learning objectives;
    • Duplicate to Draft version with “Copy of [current title]” ;
    • Adapt “Restrict review access” setting in Exam format.

 

Assigning Assignments via the Assign via link Toggle

Educators can share assignments easily using auto-assign via URL links. To do so: 
1. Enable Assign via link: Turn on the "Assign via link" toggle in the assignment settings by heading to the Assignees tab and clicking on "Edit". Note: The URL is generated immediately, but will only work once the assignment is active. 
2. Generate Link: A URL is created once a start date is set. Copy it from the settings page or assignment table dropdown.
3. Share the URL with the intended Learners. Learners will get auto-assigned after starting via the link, and it will appear under their assignments. 
Learners with institutional access are automatically assigned the assignment and receive email notifications. Learners without access see a message prompting them to request it. 
Note: Educators can still assign manually to individuals or turn off "assign via link" later.

Duplicating Assignments

Clicking duplicate creates a mirrored assignment in “draft” status with the same name as the original.

 

 

Was this article helpful?

Articles in This Section